Betsy Ross Flag

The History of the US Flag

The Continental Congress passed an act on June 14th, 1777 that created the first flag for the United State of America. The original flag was set to have 13 stripes alternating red and white in color - 7 red stripes and 6 white stripes. It was decided that the union of the flag would be blue with 13 white 5 pointed stars. The stripes were a symbol of the original 13 colonies while the stars were set to represent the original 13 states. The colors of the flag are symbolic as well; red symbolizes hardiness and valor, white symbolizes purity and innocence, and blue represents vigilance, perseverance, and justice.

The original thirteen states:

1. Delaware

2. Pennsylvania

3. New Jersey

4. Georgia

5. Connecticut

6. Massachusetts

7. Maryland

8. South Carolina

9. New Hampshire

10. Virginia

11. New York

12. North Carolina 

13. Rhode Island 

Several historians believe the first flag was designed by Francis Hopkinson, a congressman from New Jersey, and it was sewn by Betsy Ross, a seamstress, and upholsterer from Philadelphia. She's the reason we call this particular version of the US Flag the Betsy Ross. 

The flag has evolved over the years to account for the admission of additional states. The US Flag has been modified a total of 26 times over its 237 years of existence. Today the flag consists of a blue union with 50 white 5 pointed stars, and 13 stripes alternating red and white with 7 red stripes and 6 white stripes and was first presented in 1960 after admitting Hawaii as the 50th state of the union. 

Back to blog